Q: I am befuddled! My question concerns alcohol laws. Somebody told me they were eating in a restaurant in Westville and they were allowed to bring in their own wine with them. I have heard of places down south where you bring in your own booze and they sell you “set-ups” (a set-up would be just a glass with ice or pop). If this is true, we can’t wait to go try this as wine in restaurants are always so expensive. I wanted to ask you first though before we get in trouble.
A: This is not legal. Indiana does not allow you to carry in any type of alcohol into a restaurant. This includes beer, wine and hard liquor. You will occasionally find a restaurant that allows it, but mostly from lack of knowledge. Indiana law requires you to purchase alcohol from the restaurant that has a license to sell. Trying to bring in your own alcohol not only puts the restaurant at risk to be fined and potentially jeopardize their license, but brings the customer at risk. If you try to bring in your own, it is a class C misdemeanor, “For a person to bring a bottle into a licensed premise, for the person’s own use, to convey or consume at the licensed premises.”
So, if you were planning on taking that $30 pinot noir with you to dinner at your favorite restaurant, don’t be surprised if they ask you to take it back to your car and pay $120 for a similar bottle of wine purchased from a wholesaler. Remember, it puts them and you at risk.
Q: What kind of charge would land someone in jail for only three months? We got this guy at work that was bragging he has “done time” and went to jail for three months. We asked him what he did and he went silent. We think he is lying. Help a gal win a bet here.
A: Bragging? Actually any misdemeanor offense can carry a penalty of three months. So pretty much anything from driving while suspended to shoplifting, to a bar fight. You can actually check people out in the state of Indiana by going to mycase.in.gov and find out all criminal and civil proceedings and sentences.
Q: I got laid off and my former boss, who is also my friend, loaned me her car to use so that I could watch her children while she worked and this would be my pay. All was good for the last month until I got sick and missed a day and now she is threatening to report the car stolen if this happens again. Can she do this?
A: It sounds like you need to return the car, get a job and find a new friend!
Q: I am 16 and bought my own cell phone. My dad got mad at me for talking late at night to my friends and took my phone away and won’t give it back! Can the police help? Can I file charges against him since I paid for the phone and I have a receipt that I own it?
A: Happy Father’s Day! You want your dad arrested? Anyway you are a child living in your parents’ home and it appears your father has exercised reasonable discipline. If you call the police for this, you are the only one who runs the risk of being charged with something.
The winner of the last column’s riddle sponsored by Galveston Steak House in Michigan City was Jane Galinowski of Michigan City. Let’s answer the last column’s riddle of how did Detective Westphal know who shot Larry Fegaras. The answer is, of course, “Larry just told him!” Remember, he was just shot and not killed!
The sponsor for this week’s riddle are our friends at Wayne Heating and Cooling in Michigan City. The winner receives a $30 gas card.
Your plane crashes in the middle of nowhere and it is 5 below zero. You begin to walk south and come across an abandoned cabin. Inside the cabin you find a cupboard full of food, a candle, an oil lamp, a fireplace and a stove, but you only have one match. What do you light first?
The 11th correct answer by phone or email at exactly 1 p.m. today wins.
To answer a question or ask one, contact Sgt. Chris Yagelski at 873-1461, Ext #333, or e-mail ASKACOP@emichigancity.com.