Class of 2019 among largest ever at Marquette

Members of the Marquette Catholic High School Class of 2019

MICHIGAN CITY – One of the largest classes in Marquette Catholic High School history made that final walk across the stage Wednesday evening.

The 77 members of the Class of 2019 received their diplomas in a ceremony at the Richard & Louise Scholl Student Center.

Principal Allyson Headd read the welcome address before senior Matthew Malave delivered an address on behalf of students. Susan Edmonds and Roujia Wang presented graduates, and president James White and superintendent of schools Joseph Majchrowicz distributed diplomas.

Led by music director Amy Crane, the Marquette Singers performed One Republic's "I Lived." Senior Rory Neary gave one last address before the graduates exited to "Pomp and Circumstance."

Twenty-two members of Marquette's Class of 2019 graduated with summa cum laude distinction by virtue of a 4.00 cumulative grade-point average or higher. Those 22 students accrued an average of 27 dual-credit hours, including a class-high 39 by Malave.

For the ninth consecutive year, each member of Marquette's graduating class received acceptance into at least one college or university.

The Marquette Catholic High School Class of 2019 includes: Joseph Andershock, Scott Anderson, Zachery Arthur, Laura Bahena, Robert Barron, Robert Bartholomew, Daniel Beeler, Jonathan Beglin, Javan'te Blakely, Baijun Cheng, Xiaoming Chi, Patrick Connelly, Morgan Crook, Matthew Devens, Zachary Donaldson, Cassidy Downs, Mika Finney and Abagayle Furchner.

Also, Janae Galburth, Xiangyu Gao, Jorden Goodwin, Karsen Grott, Leah Gurrola, Abigail Henderson, Summer Johnson, Cherish Jones, Shakira Jones, Emmerth Joseph, Colin Kenney, Kylie Krueger, Callahan Larkin, Cody LaRocco, Isaac Lembcke, Juncheng Li, Yuhan Lin, Leonel Lopez, Kassandra Loza, Robert Luscomb, Sidney Mahone, Matthew Malave, Jack Mason, William Monroe, McKena Moore and Brianna Moyer.

Also, Rory Neary, Emma Nolan, Sophia Nolan, Gavin O'Halloran, Isabela Pacheco, Si Ze Pan, Ukari Payne, Jarett Piornack, Benjamin Pizarek, Jessica Pudlo, Dia Rallings, Nathaly Reynaga, Jalen Russell, Kaitlyn Sakich, Michael Sakich, Claire Salyer, Samuel Salyer, David Schreur, Corey Sims, Brandon Spangler, Dayn Staab, Michael Stantz, Scout Steinhiser, Gianna Tedesco, Armani Timberlake, Xin Wang, Reakiyah Webster, Margaret Williams, MaKayla Wilson, Molly Wilson, Chongchong Xu, Jiafu Yuan and Katherine Zientarski.

As a grand precursor to commencement, Marquette held its annual Honors and Awards Convocation on May 31, when scholarships and awards were presented to seniors. Award winners included:

• John B. Tracy Award: Emmery Joseph ($1,000 scholarship)

• Jean Donnelly Memorial Scholarship: Jessica Pudlo ($1,000)

• Horizon Bank Female Student-Athlete of the Year Award: Claire Salyer ($500 and plaque)

• Phi Delta Kappa Male Student-Athlete of the Year Award: Jalen Russell ($500 and plaque)

• La Porte County Unity Foundation Lilly Scholarship finalist: Rory Neary ($1,000)

• U.S. Marine Corps Awards for Scholastic Excellence to Rory Neary and Matthew Malave; for Distinguished Athlete to Colin Kenney, Morgan Crook; and Semper Fidelis award to Cassidy Downs and Javan'te Blakely

• Burger King Scholars Award: Gavin O'Halloran ($1,000)

• Michigan City Drifters Scholarship: McKena Moore ($500)

• Taco Bell Live Mas Scholarship: Javan'te Blakely ($5,000)

• Essence Rare 20th Debutante/Master Ball Scholarship: Sidney Mahone ($5,000)

• Thomas and Lillian Lernihan Scholarship: Benjamin Pizarek, McKena Moore ($1,000)

• Lions Club Memorial Scholarship: Benjamin Pizarek ($2,500)

• Judi Huber Memorial Scholarship: McKena Moore ($1,000)

• Red Cross High School Scholarship: Brandon Spangler ($250)

• Herff Jones Believe in You Principal's Award: Kate Zientarski

• Exchange Club/Thomas Lernihan Student of the Year: Rory Neary ($600)

• Charles & Joan Mulrenan Scholarship: Francisco Alonzo Vidaurre ($1,000)

• Marquette Global Studies Diploma: Kaitlyn Sakich, Scout Steinhiser ($1,500)

• Indiana University "Group Scholars Program": Summer Johnson, Nathaly Reynaga ($8,000)

• 21st Century Scholars: Scott Anderson, Javan'te Blakely, Matthew Devens, Cassidy Downs, Janae Galburth, Kassandra Loza, Jarett Piornack, Nathaly Reynaga, Corey Sims (tuition and fees for four years)

• LULAC Scholarship, Local 395 Scholarship, Ronald McDonald's Si se puede Scholarship, Hispanic Scholarship: Kassandra Loza ($1,000 each)

• Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Drum Major for Justice Advocacy Scholarship: Sidney Mahone

• Members Advantage Credit Union Leona Bruno Award, Robert L. Ludington & Anita Huppenthal Scholarship: Rory Neary ($1,000 each)

• Essence Rare Scholarship: Jalen Russell ($500)

• Rising Stars of Indiana: Caitlin Gately, Aidan McDonnell, Sydni Thomas, Lucas Trinks

• National Merit Scholar: Aidan McDonnell

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.