La PORTE — La Lumiere School held its 52nd Commencement Exercises on May 24 with Dr. Nicholas Pearce giving the keynote address.

Pearce, an award-winning clinical professor of management and organizations at Northwestern University and assistant pastor of Chicago’s historic Apostolic Church of God, left the Class of 2019 with simple, to-the-point wisdom, according to La Lumiere spokeswoman Devon Carlson.

“Many of us can go after things that other people consider success, and we can score many points on the scorecards that other people give to us. But there comes a moment when you look in the mirror and you recognize that you have scored nothing on the scorecard of your own soul,” Pearce told the graduates.

“My encouragement to you is to not just go from this place and be successful, but to be clear on how you can be a success. Being successful is fleeting, but being a success – living a life of significance where your values and your actions align – that will be far more significant and far more enduring.”

In her speech, head prefect Annabelle Lake of La Porte, one of five siblings to attend La Lumiere, encouraged her classmates not to wait to look back and miss the good old days, but to realize “the good old days are now,” and the future is for making “good new days.”

The 62 students making up the Class of 2019 originate from five states and five different countries.

In the fall they will find themselves in even more diverse locations, beginning their undergraduate university careers in more than 20 states and at least two countries outside the U.S. One student has enlisted in the U.S. Marine Corps.

The following is a list of colleges and universities where the La Lumiere School Class of 2019 will study in the upcoming school year: Alabama, Arizona State, Ball State, Bard College, Belmont University, Butler, UCLA, UC-Riverside, Cal-San Diego, Cal-Santa Barbara, Dayton, Denison, DePaul, College of DuPage, Franklin Pierce, George Washington, Indiana, Loyola, Manchester, MetFilm School London, Miami, Michigan State, Missouri, Montana State, Northeastern, Notre Dame, Oklahoma, Oxford College of Emory University, Penn State, Penn, Purdue, Purdue Northwest, San Jose State, Savannah College of Art and Design, Tulane, University of Sydney, and Wisconsin.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.