Ethics Commission elects new officers

From left to right, Calvin Bellamy, immediate past Ethics Commission President, Dan Klein and Courtney Smith, incoming president and vice president, and Dr. Steve Grandfield, immediate past vice president.

La PORTE COUNTY — At its Jan. 17 meeting, the Shared Ethics Advisory Commission (SEAC) elected Dan Klein as president and Courtney Smith as vice president.

Klein recently retired as Executive Director of the Northwest Indiana Habitat for Humanity and is the former Mayor of Crown Point. He is one of SEAC’s founders. Smith is an attorney with the Merrillville and Valparaiso law firm of Burke Costanza & Carberry.

Retiring President Calvin Bellamy, who served as SEAC president for more than ten years will remain on the Commission and has agreed to chair its Marketing Committee.

President Klein observed, “Though a newly appointed member of the Commission, I have watched membership grow and tasks and projects expand. It is gratifying to see the Commission fulfilling the expectations of its founders. I look forward to keeping the momentum going.”

Vice President Smith added, “It is a pleasure serving on the Commission and working on building an ethics culture for all of Northwest Indiana. This important work is something worth dedicating time and effort to.”

Retiring President Bellamy noted, “It has been a honor to serve as SEAC President for over ten years and work on building membership from just three Northwest Indiana communities to 24. The Commission’s work will never be done, but I think I can speak for every one of my colleagues when I say we are all dedicated to helping hardworking public employees understand how to recognize and deal with ethical challenges.”

The Shared Ethics Advisory Commission is an all-volunteer group open to town, city and county governments in Lake, La Porte and Porter Counties. The Commission’s chief purpose is to provide training for public employees on ethical decision-making.

Presently there are twenty-four member communities — Counties: Lake, LaPorte and Porter. Cities: Crown Point, East Chicago, Gary, Hobart, Lake Station, Portage, Valparaiso and Whiting. Towns: Burns Harbor, Cedar Lake, Chesterton, Dyer, Hebron, Highland, Lowell, Merrillville, Munster, Ogden Dunes, St. John, Schererville and Westville.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.